Andrew & Faulkner


Andrew & Faulkner - South Island


Each Association selects their open 10 team members and not more than two emergencies, Junior teams shall comprise five members and one emergency – this may be by shooting specific trials, using ranking lists, or whatever method suits them. The A & F shield teams event is the split into  two divisions, Division 2 teams compete for the Lindsay Smith Memorial Trophy and they can also win the Andrew & Faulkner Shield. Junior teams compete for the Greenhough Trophy.

Each shooter will shoot one 20 shot match and one 10 shot match in this order, and with so many shooters competing these matches may be hours apart.  A rolling total of team scores is kept, and the pressure and excitement builds as the teams can easily see how many points they need to catch up or to stay in front - this is part of the unique challenge of this type of match!

The event is hosted by different Associations each year and alternates each year North and South of the Waitaki River, and may be held either in a regular range if there is one large enough available, or in a temporary range such as a hall.  Wherever they are held there is ample time for socialising, checking out each others' gear, and making purchases at the trade stalls.  Presentations at the range will conclude the event.


The Andrew & Faulkner (South Island) and Teams of Ten (North Island) matches are the Islands' premier Indoor Associaton matches.  Venues vary each year and teams are selected by each Association, with the Andrew & Faulkner match being shot annually in July and the Teams of Ten match in May.  The winning South Island and North Island Association teams then compete against each other for the Candyman Cup later in the year.   (For Teams of Ten information, go to the  INDOOR/TEAMS OF TEN page)


Andrew & Faulkner 2018
is being hosted by Nelson Association on 28th July 2018
at the Saxton Range, Saxton Rd, Richmond, NELSON



The 2017 Candyman Cup winners are Waikato.

The Candyman Cup was donated in 1981 by Doug Linkhorn, proprietor of “Empire Confectionery”, for competition
between the winners of the North Island’s “Rees Scroll” at Teams of Ten, and the “South Island’s “Andrew & Faulkner Shield” shoots.

The 2017 match was shot between Waikato and East Otago, with Waikato coming out ahead by 19 points.  

Congratulations to East Otago's Peter McCallum and Hamish Soper for their 200s.



Congratulations to the 2017 Andrew & Faulkner winners

Andrew & Faulkner 2017  was hosted by East Otago Association in Dunedin on Saturday 29th July.  158 shooters came together in a 12-mound range to shoot in 15 Open teams and 6 Junior teams.   Well done to East Otago for managing so many shooters on a range this size, and to all the shooters who closely followed all instructions to make the day flow so well.

Congratulations to Open winners East Otago, who were closely followed by Ashley in 2nd place and Marlborough in 3rd.  In the Junior Division East Otago again took the top spot, followed by Nelson in 2nd place and Southland in 3rd.  Division 2 (the Lindsay Smith Memorial Trophy) was won by Central Otago, followed by Southland, then North Canterbury.  North Canterbury also took out the Bottom 5 Handicap, and East Otago won the Top 5.  

T op Open Shooter was Amelia Hughson, and Top Junior was Tim Green.








2016 A & F Shield Winners - Christchurch
2016 A & F, Oamaru