The Titipounamu competition is an annual "postal" style event run by Target Shooting Auckland, with Association teams shooting at their home ranges and the scores being combined.   Teams are of eight A Grade or lower shooters, who each shoot one 10 and one 20 shot card.   The trophy, a carved spear, is presented at the annual TSNZ Annual General Meeting. 

The name "Titipounamu"  very appropriately comes from the Maori word for the Rifleman bird.

2022 TITIPOUNAMU  Competition


Welcome back to the Titipounamu Competition for 2022 - hopefully this year will see a normal match run after the last couple of years of disruption.




2021 Titipounamu Competition - Cancelled

Due to the August Covid-19 lockdown period the due date for the 2021 Titipounamu results was extended to 24 October, however ongoing Covid disruptions resulted in the competition having to be cancelled.

Welcome to the Titipounamu Competition for 2021. A normal shooting year so far and let’s keep it that way.

Recapping on last year’s disrupted event, 12 Association teams competed for the trophy from both the North (9) and South (3) Islands. That was 2 less than 2019 (no-one mention COVID). We missed scores from long time entrants and 2010 winners East Otago, and long time listeners, even longer between drinks shooters, Horowhenua.  Hopefully with a stable shooting calendar this year, they will both be back for this year’s event.

The last 16 winners have been Horowhenua 2005, Waikato 2006, East Otago 2007, Waikato 2008 & 9, East Otago 2010, Taranaki 2011, East Otago 2012, Hutt Valley 2013, East Otago 2014, Waikato 2015 & 2016, Mid Canterbury 2017, Waikato 2018, Taranaki 2019 and Auckland 2020.

Results are due in to the organisers by 12th September 2021.

Click here for 2021 Titipounamu Information



2020 Titipounamu Competition

To all the Associations that competed in this years competition, thanks.  A distrupted competition this year thanks to you know what, however we got there in the end.  This may have caused a few Associations not to be able to compete this year, hopefully they will return next year.

Congratulations to this years winners, AUCKLAND. A very solid performance. As you can see, 3 points was the difference between 1st and 5th.

Previous years scores for all the teams makes interesting reading. I've bold texted the winning score for each year as a goal for next year.

The trophy (spear) is normally presented at this years TSNZ Conference but as we all know, this year it is going to be a zoom meeting instead of in person.
The trophy will be get to Auckland from last years winners Taranaki somehow.

Hoping you all have had an enjoyable 2020 season, albeit a disrupted verson, and will be back for what is looking like an interesting and hopefully smoother running 2021.


Rob Dixon
Secretary, Target Shooting Auckland

Click here for 2020 Titipounamu RESULTS