North vs South Interisland Match

Nominations for 2018 North vs South teams can be made on the 2018 TSNZ Membership Form. 
To be valid, the Membership Form and Fee must be received by the TSNZ Office by 30th April 2018.  Late nominations will not be accepted.

Those who would like to be considered as a Team Manager can also nominate for this on the Membership form (for the first time this year).  If you have a preference for which team please state this.  Manager nominees will be contacted after the Teams have been selected to confirm which (if any) team they are required for.



North vs South 2018

is being held at the
Saxton Range in Nelson
on 17th - 19th August 2018


North vs South Explained






Interisland NZ pocket.jpg

Teams of shooters are selected for North Island and South Island teams based on Championship scores shot between April and June each year.  For North Islanders this is based on the average out of 100 of their FOUR best scores, while for South Islanders it is from their THREE best scores.

The RANKING LIST from the TSNZ Office gives the current ranking for all shooters who have nominated for North/South.

OPEN - 20 members plus 2 emergencies
WOMEN - 15 members plus 2 emergencies
JUNIOR - 10 members plus 2 emergencies
VETERAN - 10 members plus 2 emergencies


Some places in each team are awarded automatically based on the Ranking List.  These are 15 for the Open team, 11 for the Women's Team, 7 for the Juniors Team and 7 for the Veterans Team.

An Island Selection Panel of three (who have been appointed at the previous TSNZ AGM) confirm the automatic selections and then select the remaining members from the full list of nominees.  They can consider nominees who have not shot 3 Championships for South Island and 4 Championships for North Island if they feel this is warranted.

Shooters who have been selected for the Teams are advised of their success by early July, and will then receive full information on the match and what is expected of them.



Each Team and Island has a Manager who makes sure their teams know all they need to in advance of the match, and are present during the weekend.  On the Friday night the Manager will introduce his/her team along with their years of representation and will present the Island datebars. During the Saturday match the Manager will make sure everyone is ready on time, will check targets and be the liaison for any protests, and at the Dinner will make sure everyone is present (and well presented) at the team photos.

On the Saturday all teams shoot shoulder to shoulder and will shoot one ten-shot, one twenty-shot, and then one ten-shot match.   Separate matches are shot for each team a shooter has qualified for - for example a shooter in both the Junior and Open teams will have to shoot eveything twice.  Those who rank in the top of each team qualify for their respective New Zealand Team(s), and then shoot on the Sunday in a Postal Match against the UK Home Counties.  Shooters who do not make the NZ teams also shoot on the Sunday in the Derby Match, where teams have been drawn from their ranking on the previous day.  There is often a Manager's match too, where the team managers have to borrow all the gear they need.

The event concludes with an Awards Dinner, which is a formal event and includes presentation of trophies and NZ pockets and datebars, and photographs of all teams.  The dress code for all team members is black trousers/skirt, white shirt/top, and black blazer/jacket.  



Past North vs South Results




North vs South is over for another year, and a huge thanks to Manawatu Association for a well-run event.

NZ Teams all shot their postal match against Home Counties this morning.  Well done in particular to the Women's Team who posted a record score.

Then it was the turn of the Derby Teams, whose members are drawn from the ranked list of non-NZ Team shooters in a way that means all the teams are relatively even.

And finally tonight are the Dinner and Presentations.  Photos from the weekend will be added to a North vs South 2017 photo gallery, so look out for that later next week.

Safe travels to everyone heading home from the event.


 Congratulations to the North Island for a clean sweep at North vs South 2017!


And for Sunday evening, don't forget to be at the dinner venue before 6pm to be ready for your Team Photos.










   Alison Fursdon

   Bob Crawford

   Ian Stuart

   Fred de Burgh






   Peter Webster

   Betty Gardiner

   Malcolm Garland

   Rex Schroder







Tangi Utikere
Deputy Mayor, Palmerston North










Nth Jnrs.jpg
North Island Juniors


Sth Jnrs.jpg
South Island Juniors


Nth Vets.jpg
North Island Veterans


Sth Vets.jpg
South Island Veterans


Nth Women.jpg
North Island Women


Sth Open.jpg
South Island Open


Sth Women.jpg
South Island Women


Nth Open.jpg
North Island Open


Congratulations to all the shooters who been selected for North Island or South Island Teams.






2017 North vs South Presentations


Open 1 North Island.jpg
Ross Shield - Open Teams
Winning North Captain Luke Sigvertsen,
South Captain Val Wadsworth


Open 2 Helen Top Score.jpg
BSA Shield and Medal
Top Open Inter-Island Score
Helen Freiman


Open 3 Grant NZ Agg.jpg
Hudson Trophy
Top Open Aggregate Score
Grant Taylor


Open 4 Island Reps.jpg
New Open Island Representatives


Open 5 NZ Reps.jpg
New Open NZ Representatives


Vets 1 North Island.jpg
Rhodes Scroll - Veterans Teams
Record score 3908.196
Winning North Island Captain Ralph Small,
South Island Captain Robert Dalzell


Vets 2 Grant Taylor Top Score.jpg
Lissington Trophy
Top Veterans Inter-Island Score
Grant Taylor


Vets 3 Island Reps.jpg
New Veterans Island Representatives


Vets 4 NZ Reps.jpg
New Veterans NZ Representatives


Wmn 1 North Island.jpg
Craig Shield - Womens Teams
Winning North Captain Raewyne Simpson,
South Captain Denva Wren 


Wmn 2 Kirsten Top Score North.jpg
MacDowell Cup
Top Women's North Island Score
Kirsten Birrell


Wmn 3 Lanelle Top Score South.jpg
RE Taylor Cup
Top Women's South Island Score
Lanelle McArthur


Wmn 5 Sarah Black NZ.jpg
Hooper Lee Trophy
Top Women's Aggregate Score
Sarah Black


Wmn 4 Sarah Black Agg.jpg
Betty Hooper Memorial Trophy
Top NZ Women's Team Score
Sarah Black


Wmn 6 Island Reps.jpg
New Women Island Representatives


Wmn 7 NZ Reps.jpg
New Women NZ Representatives


Jnr 1 North.jpg
NZSRA Junior Cup - Junior Teams
South Captain Phillippa Fleming presenting
to winning North Captain Sarah Reesby


Jnr 2 Sam Riddle top score.jpg
Nan Barlow Memorial Cup
Top Junior Inter-Island Score
Samantha Riddle


Jnr 3 Sam Riddle Agg.jpg
Marchant Trophy
Top Junior Aggregate Score
Samantha Riddle


Jnr 4 Island Reps.jpg
New Junior Island Representatives


Jnr 5 NZ Reps.jpg
New Junior NZ Representatives


Derby 1 Ian Infield Top score.jpg
Gardiner Shield
Top Score Derby Team
Ian Inwood
Record Score - 299


Derby 2 Top Team.jpg
Winning Derby Team
Neil's Notorious Not Near Enough